Here at Texas Republic Firearms Academy (TXRFA) all instructors are certified, and each lead instructor has extensive experience as a law enforcement officer who has personally encountered violent armed criminals. For you, this real-world “street” experience translates into intensely practical training.
To improve your learning experience, we keep our classes small in size (6-24 students) and hands-on practical. For private groups and those interested in one-on-one instruction, any of the below courses can be adapted to meet your individual needs.
Firearm safety and range rules, class registration details, and our Terms and Conditions are included below the following list of classes.
Our Core Classes
Class 1a: Orientation to SIG Sauer 360 Self-Defense Pistol. Semi-private class. 4-hr class; Cost: $250.
Class 1b: Orientation to SIG Sauer P320 and P250 convertible pistols. Semi-private class. 4-hr class; Cost: $250.
Class 1c: Orientation to SIG Sauer P226. Semi-private class. 4-hr class; Cost: $250.
Class 2: Introduction to Firearms for Self-Defense. Handgun basics, particularly popular with those who are new to handguns, as well as for those who want a refresher on handgun operation and cleaning, safety, and use, or help in identifying the right gun to purchase. Orientation to the home-defense shotgun is an optional addition.
1-2 hr class; Cost: $250. ($90 if included with a same-day Class-3 course.)
Class 2M: Maintaining Firearms Proficiency. Refresher class, or this course can also be used as an orientation class for those who are already familiar with self-defense firearms but want to increase their proficiency with a new gun.
90-minutes; Cost: $250. ($90 if included with another same-day course.)
Class 2W: Bullets and Bling: Introduction to Firearms Self-Defense for Women. Private group class. This is a handgun basics course, same as above, but also includes training and information on personal security and the self-defense needs of women. It does not include License-to-Carry (LTC/CHL) certification. This is an introduction to self-defense course, only. See Class 3 for a course with a more robust curriculum that includes LTC certification.
2-1/2 hr class; Cost: $250
Class 3: Handgun Self-Defense. Self-defense shooting skills and tactics, shoot-don’t-shoot scenarios, carry methods, gun and ammo choices, laws and legal considerations, and post-shooting issues and dealing with the police. This course includes License-to-Carry (LTC/CHL) certification for the State of Texas, or can be used as a personal refresher for those who are seeking additional skills and legal updates.
9-10 hour class; Cost $375.
Note: The above class and each of the below Class-3 variants are actually 3-4 classes combined into one session. Each segment builds on the prior session; when combined, this creates a comprehensive and in-depth learning experience designed to better equip the participant for real-world handgun defense.
Class 3N: Handgun Self Defense (same as above) with Night Shooting. Also includes optional LTC certification. This is a popular, expanded version of our Class #3, with the additional time spent on hands-on demos, night-time tactics and night-shooting skills.
1-1/2 day class (1-evening + 1-day); Cost: $450
Class 3W: Handgun Self-Defense for Women. (This is a women-only, private-group class.) This course focuses on the unique safety needs of women; handgun options and methods of gun-carry, an overview of less-lethal weapons for self-defense such as pepper spray and stun-guns, and safety strategies for women. It can also include License-to-Carry (LTC/CHL) certification. This class is similar to Class-3, but is designed to be used in a retreat setting, typically a combination of classroom and gun range (1-evening and 1-full day).
1- day class (9-10 hours); Cost: $375. 1-1/2 day class; Cost $450. Minimum of 6 women.
Class 3GGG or 3N-GGG: God, Guns, and Handgun Self-Defense. Optionally includes License-to-Carry (LTC/CHL) certification, or can serve as an LTC refresher course. This course incorporates much of the same content as Class-3 or 3N, with the addition of Bible-based curriculum that is consistent with the book, “God, Guns, and Guts of Firearm Defense: The Bible View” by SIG Swanstrom. To purchase a copy of this book, Click Here, or order it from your local bookstore.
1-day class (8-10 hours); Cost: $375. 4N-GGG: $450.
Class 4: Self-Reliant & Ready (2-Gun or 3-Gun). This is a tactical skills course in which participants use 2 or 3 different guns; handgun, home-defense shotgun, and an AR or tactical rifle. It focuses on move-and-shoot skills, and the tactics needed for self-defense while at home, in a vehicle, at school or work, in urban public places, and/or isolated rural areas. For those who are interested, it can also include demos on the advantages/disadvantages of various types of weapons in various threat scenarios, or fire-team tactics. This class uses scenario-based training. Participants must have the ability to walk hills and jog short distances safely with a loaded gun.
1-day class (6 hours); Cost: $435.
Class 5: Parent-Child Family Firearms Training. Private class or private-group class.
3-4 hr class; Cost: Variable
Class 6: Special-Needs Firearm Training. This semi-private or private class is exclusively for the special needs of our Wounded Warriors, seniors, and others with physical limitations or impairments. Semi-private.
Course length is adjustable; Cost: Varies
Class 7: Introduction to Tactical Shotguns (Home-Defense Shotguns) for Defense.
3-hr class; Cost: $275.
Class 8: Introduction to Tactical Rifle. AR or other types of carbines.
6-hr class; Cost: $300.
Class 9: Tactical Rifle and/or Long-Distance Shooting for Ranch or Estate Defense.
6-hr class; Cost: $420.
Class 10: Executive Protection. (Semi-private class)
6-hr class: Cost: $550.
Class 11: Kidnapping and Known-Threat Defense.
6-hr class: Cost: $400.
Class 12: Vehicle Defense and Assault
1-day class: Cost: $1,200.
DISCOUNTS: Tuition discounts are available for the above classes. If you are a spouse of a sworn law enforcement officer (LEO), firefighter, paramedic, or a spouse of a deployed member of the United States military, please let us know prior to registration.
Other Courses Offered
Advanced courses and custom courses are also available for both civilians and law enforcement officers. Please contact us for details.
_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _
FIREARM SAFETY RULES:
CLICK HERE to download a PDF copy of our TXRFA Firearm Safety Rules.
_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _
Class Registration Information
Terms and Conditions
To register for a class, or to request information regarding private instruction, please Click Here or use the “Registration” page of this website.
Background Check: Much like the process for purchasing a handgun or applying for a Texas License-to-Carry (LTC/CHL), each student must be willing to undergo a background check before attending one of our classes. This applies to private instruction, and as well.
(Exception: Students under the age of 18-years may be exempted from age and other requirements if they are attending one of our family classes, or another class with a parent or legal guardian).
Age Requirement: Except for classes which cater to children, students must be 21-years of age, or 18-years of age if active military. In certain classes, younger students will be allowed to attend a class with a parent or legal guardian. However, successful graduation from an LTC-included class does not mean that the State of Texas will issue a license-to-carry.
Registration and Participation is at Our Discretion: We reserve the right to deny participation, including without cause. If you would not qualify for the purchase a handgun, or if you would not be approved for a Texas License-to-Carry, please do not apply. You do not qualify for admission to any Texas Republic Firearms Academy class.
Payment: Tuition must be paid for classes and private instruction at the time of registration. Registration received without payment will be accepted, but it will not reserve a place for you in class.
Payment Authorization: Applicant agrees that their signature provided by them by photocopy, scan, or electronically, is as valid as their physical signature.
Groups: Private-group classes require a 50% deposit ($500 minimum), with full payment received at least 1-month prior to the scheduled date of the class.
Minimum size for a private group is 6, maximum 12 people for each range, and 24 people per classroom section of the class. If less than 6 people participate, the minimum charge for a private class is based on tuition for 6 students.
Registration: The online registration available through this website is only an indication of interest. Submitting it does not constitute a completed registration, but it does initiate the registration process. For registration to be complete, the paper registration form for a specific class must be completed, signed, and received by TXRFA. It must be accompanied by a copy of the applicant’s driver’s license, State ID card, or passport, and full payment. A place in class is not secured until this registration process is complete and we have had the opportunity to receive affirmation from our background check.
Each individual participant must complete and sign the student registration form for that class. This completed and signed form and payment must be received at least 2 weeks prior to the start of the class. It can be submitted by mail or scanned and submitted electronically as an email attachment, but it must be received at least two weeks prior to the class. Please review the submission instructions that are printed on the bottom of the registration form.
Cancellation of Private Class or Private Instruction: Cancellation of private class or private instruction is subject to a 50% cancellation fee if written notification is received more than 14-days prior to the scheduled date. If notice of cancellation is received 14 days or less before the scheduled start of the training, or student(s) fail to show up for the scheduled training, 100% of the tuition and fees are forfeited. If payment has not yet been made but the registration form has been submitted, payment is still due.
Cancellation or No-Show to a Regular Class: For regular classes, cancellation less than 14-days or less before a scheduled training session, or failure to appear, is subject to 100% forfeiture of both tuition and other rental charges and fees. We reserve the right to cancel a class if the minimum threshold of attendees has not been met.
Students who fail to show up for a class or cancel less than 14-days before a class, forfeit the entire tuition payment. If tuition has not yet been paid but the registration form has been submitted, the full fee is still owed.
If a registrant is denied admission because they failed to pass our background check, or we reject their participation for some other reason, the full tuition payment less a $35 processing fee will be refunded.
Refunds: For regularly scheduled classes, all but $35 of tuition will be refunded if we receive written notice of cancellation more than 14-days before the scheduled start of the class. This charge is to offset the cost of processing registrations.
WAIVER OF LIABILITY: Despite reasonable precautions, students, guests, instructors and other participants must understand that firearm-use and firearms training are inherently dangerous. These dangers include property damage or loss, injury to oneself or others, or even death. Therefore, participants and others may be required to sign a Release of Liability document.
SAFETY AND RULES OF CONDUCT: Attendees agree to adhere to the safety rules published by Texas Republic Firearms Academy, appropriate conduct as stipulated by instructors and safety officers, as well as to any other rules published or posted at the facility used for training or practice. It is the responsibility of each attendee to know and understand these rules and to immediately bring to the attention of a TXRFA instructor or Range Master when a fellow student, or anyone else, is in violation of any Safety Rule, or if their deportment is not conducive to the learning environment. It is understood that firearms safety, and safety generally, is everyone’s responsibility. Click Here to download a copy of the TXRFA Firearms Safety Rules.
FACILITIES: Texas Republic Firearms Academy does not own any of the facilities it uses. Any problem with the facility, other than an issue which can be easily ameliorated by the TXRFA instructor, is between the student and the property owner.
BACKGROUND CHECKS: As a condition to enrollment, prospective students agree and authorize Texas Republic Firearms Academy to conduct a background check to verify that a student has the right to possess a firearm under federal, state, and local laws. Each class has a registration fee of $35 built into the tuition cost to cover the costs associated with registration and/or a background check. This fee is not refundable.
PAYMENT OF TUITION & FEES: Payment of tuition must accompany the signed and dated registration form to secure a place in class. Checks should be made payable to TXRFA. Applicants who pay by Credit Card or Debit Card, who supply their card numbers or allow their card to be swiped, accept responsibility for payment without their signature.
GUN and EQUIPMENT RENTALS: Though we may refer to firearm or equipment rental, Texas Republic Firearms Academy does not actually rent guns or safety equipment, nor does it sell ammunition. Amounts collected are actually cleaning or convenience fees, or reimbursement. These are extended solely as a service to aid our students.
Any equipment borrowed or “rented” is not to be removed from the gun range where these items were provided for use. Removal of these items from the location of intended use is considered theft, as is retention of these items longer than the duration of the class for which they were intended. Since the possession of firearms is a serious issue, missing or misappropriated firearms will be immediately reported to the police as stolen.
Guests and Assistants: No family members, observers, photographers, or other guests of students, are allowed on the gun range or in a TXRFA classroom. Occasionally, in unusual and rare circumstances, an exception is made, but only for those who have obtained prior permission. Exceptions include aides or family members who are assisting a physically impaired student or elderly person who is taking a Specialized Firearms Training or Special-Needs class, or any firearm training class in which an elderly or infirm person is a registered participant. These are welcomed exceptions. However, even in these cases, advance permission is required and a copy of their government-issued photo ID must be supplied. At their expense, we reserve the right to conduct a background check of students as well as non-student visitors or aides.
CONDUCT: Students agree to conduct themselves in a manner that is lawful and conducive to safety, learning, and respect for others.
Expulsion for Cause: Expulsion for a stated cause is at the sole discretion of the instructor, and expelled students must immediately leave the venue. They will not receive a refund. Each instructor also has the discretion to order a student to leave his or her class and the premises without cause.
Expulsion Without Cause: A student removed from class without a stated cause may receive a full refund of their tuition.
Refunds After Expulsion: Refunds for expulsion will not be considered on the day of expulsion. They must be made in writing and received within two weeks of the incident. It is the responsibility of the expelled student to make sure that this request has been received by TXRFA administration.
Required Surrender of a Weapon: A Range Master or Texas Republic Firearms Academy instructor or administrator can, at any time, demand that a student immediately surrender any firearm or other weapon that is in the student’s possession. Failure to immediately comply is cause for expulsion. It is at the lead instructor’s sole discretion to return the weapon to the individual just prior to them leaving the premises, make it available during the subsequent two-week period, or to turn the weapon over to a law enforcement agency for disposition.
TAXES: Any applicable government-imposed fees and taxes on firearms, ammunition and other goods and services delivered by Texas Republic Firearms Academy, are in addition to the listed price, and determined by the location where the training, service or goods are delivered.
GUNS and SAFETY EQUIPMENT: It is the responsibility of each student to use the required safety equipment and safety devices when present at a TXRFA-sponsored activity or class, gun range, during any live-fire exercise, or practice session.
Guns and Safety Equipment: Unless otherwise specified, it is the responsibility of each student to supply their own firearm, ammunition, and safety equipment for each training or practice session. It is the student’s responsibility to make sure that the weapon they use is in good repair, that they are using appropriate ammunition, and that they know how to safely use and properly operate it.
Safe Ammunition: Only SAAMI approved ammunition will be allowed on the range. This includes most of the manufacturers of quality ammunition such as Spear, Federal, Winchester, Remington, Fiocchi, Black Hills, Hornady, Blount, etc. Specifically excluded as not suitable for use in our classes, is ammunition manufactured by Wolf, Magtech, Monarch and any handloaded or reloaded ammunition. If you have questions about SAAMI, or ammunition selection, please ask before the day of class.
Safety Equipment: Each student is responsible for bringing their own safety equipment, and for using it. We will treat you as adults. The following safety equipment is required, but it is up to you to make sure you use it.
Student-supplied safety equipment includes:
1. Eye Protection: Safety glasses, shooting glasses, or prescription glasses with polycarbonate (plastic) lenses;
2. Hearing Protection: Muff-style, over-the-ear and covering the vulnerable area behind the ear. Muffs should have a Noise Reduction Rating(NRR) of 27 or higher;
3. Cap with Visor: Baseball-style hat or other visor cap suitable for protecting the face from flying shell casings;
4. Footwear to Cover the Entire Foot. No sandals, or open-toe shoes. Footwear must be suitable for uneven, unpaved surfaces;
5. Long Pants or Skirt/Dress: We recommend that legs be completely covered to the ankle;
6. Shirt with Collar: We recommend a button collar shirt, or shirt with a close-fitting collar to prevent hot shell casings from getting under the shirt;
7. Long-sleeved shirt and sunscreen or sun-block are recommended for sun protection but are not required.
* Items 1-3 can be borrowed from Texas Republic Firearms Academy for the duration of any instructional firearms course for a cleaning fee of $12. However, this equipment must be requested at least one week prior to the beginning of the 1st class session.
* At Texas Republic Firearms Academy (TXRFA) your safety is paramount *